One of “those” moments

Some days just don’t start out ideally.  At my house, today was one of them.

It’s been a jammed week!  Having completed my last teaching day of the week yesterday, I guess the extent of my exhaustion crept up with me.  I put my head down on Little One’s pillow after reading to him, and I didn’t wake up for several hours.  After moving to my room, I couldn’t get up to my alarm (despite having fallen asleep at 8:30).  Hopefully all the extra sleep will benefit me today.

Anyway, I know that it’s not good when the kids are up before me, but I was having one of those “I can’t stop dreaming and snap out of it” mornings.  Wait–you’ve never had one of those?  Oh, please tell me I’m not the only one…

Sorry–I got sidelined.  So, my little boys were up and at “it”, which tends to be so fun and sweet for a little bit and chaotic for the rest.  Something went wrong during one my dense fog-of-dreamland moments and I suddenly am realizing that a whole lot of screeching is going on.  Daddy had come to the rescue, but it turned out that Child #2 had gotten poked on one of the many nails sticking out on our upstairs steps.  First of all, why are their nails sticking out?  Does that mean that the padding has disintegrated?  Do we need new carpeting?  Secondly, why haven’t we finally learned our lesson and tried to pound those down?

Child #2 was upset.  Being the one with anxiety disorder (and autism), his every thought now revolved around the fear that his whole day would be changed by his being unable to walk.  Or wear shoes.  *Sigh*

If you’re unfamiliar with the scope of autism, you might not be able to grasp the extent of his stress and worry.  It’s not a simple whimpering with an occasional sigh or snuffle.  Oh, no.  It’s an eyes-bugging-out, muscles strained, shouting-at-the-top-of-his-lungs sort of decibal.  No matter how fabulous or sensible his parents’ solutions are, they can’t beat the depth of his worries.  In my opinion, his emotions are just so strong at those moments that his mind can’t actually even process what we’ve said.

Knowing that my husband needed to get to school and was feeling pretty spent after having had a tough time after school the other day with our son, I knew it was up to me to find a way to get him dressed, fed, and off to school.  PRAYERS!

I looked over at my Bible, still marked for Matthew 6:33.  I told Child #2 that we are told in the Bible not to worry.  I read to him the entire sectioned entitled, “Do not Worry.”  Then I looked up a few other sections dealing with worry and found Philippians 4:6–“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

He listened carefully and followed along with me.  We prayed.  He started worrying again.  I reminded him that God tells us not to worry about anything.  Just pray and tell it to God.

By God’s grace, anytime the worry started cropping up again, I reminded him that God doesn’t want him to worry about anything, and he ate his breakfast, brushed his teeth.. then I helped him get dressed carefully so as not to disturb the bandaid, and before long he was safely at school (getting rebandaged by Daddy with lots of “cool” athletic tape that he was now excited to show off to his friends).

Praise God, from whom all blessings flow!

This entry was posted in Being "Mom". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

