Recovery and whatnot

Soon Baby will be one month old!  I realize that in the grand scheme of a person’s life this isn’t very much time–yet as intentionally as I’ve tried to cherish the moments of his life, I still have to ask myself, “Where did the time go?”

At any rate, I continue to struggle getting much exercise/activity in my day.  I am still keeping a very simple routine–get in the shower as soon as possible after getting the “big” kids to school, keep on top of the kitchen and laundry, and…that’s about it.  As much as I might be feeling more healed and ready to take things on, I just can’t find it in myself to make my baby cry–and it seems that he rarely is awake and happy to be on his own.  He wants attention and to be held.  And, truthfully, most of the time I’m glad to give it to him.

My goal had been to do as much light walking as possible during this postpartum period, but I haven’t done much.  I can’t even use snowy sidewalks as an excuse for not loading up the stroller!  We have had some snow, but it hasn’t stayed on the pavement long.  I’ve been reminded how correlated for me my activity level is with my stress level, and I certainly get more worked up about things when I’m not working out!

Tonight Baby fell asleep in his bouncy seat in the kitchen while I was finishing up a Christmas cookie baking project.  He still is asleep!  This allowed me to get some laundry put away with the older three kids, tuck in Little One and read to him, read to the older two and tuck them in, and even do the postpartum workout on my Denise Austin video.  This is only the second time I’ve done it, but I was encouraged to see how much more my body allowed me to do this time.  My recovery is really progressing well!

The other exciting thing this week was that I discovered that my splint fits me again.  I had tried it on a couple weeks ago, and it wouldn’t come close to velcroing shut.  It’s absolutely amazing to me how God designed our bodies and how resilient they can be.  It’s crazy to think how a few weeks ago I was stretched out to the max and now I maybe look only about 3 or 4 months pregnant.  It’s been fun squishing myself into my regular clothing and emptying my closets of the maternity clothes.  I know it’s time to donate them to the thrift store (they have served me well over the past four pregnancies, after all), but it’s still somewhat bittersweet–simply for the memories.  I’m just silly about such superficial sentimentalities (if that’s even a word).

Anyway, now that I know the splint fits me again, it’s time to get focused about the Tupler Technique!  I need to pull out the DVD and get going on the program again.  That will be a goal for next week, being that tomorrow I hope to do some more Christmas baking for a cookie “sale” at church as well as do a bit of housework (as Baby allows).

I may have a good 10 pounds to go to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight (and I’d have rather been 10 pounds lighter than that), but it’s a challenge I’m excited for.  It’s been a LONG time since I could just go all out and work up a big sweat.  I scheduled my postpartum dr.’s appt. for early in the New Year and look forward to getting the ok to resume a normal routine!!!

In the meanwhile, I’ve got to stay focused on what’s currently in sight by working at these baby steps.  One thing at a time!

This entry was posted in Belly Button Blog, Working it Out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

