What’s for supper?

Tonight I made something that I haven’t made in a really long time–shepherd’s pie.  Technically, it was cottage pie since I used ground beef, not lamb.

What I recommend doing is how I made the dish this time–by making the mashed potatoes ahead of time.  We had mashed potatoes recently for supper and I found a shepherd’s pie recipe which called for the amount of leftover mashed potatoes (1-1/2 pounds) I had.  All I had to do was cook up a pound of beef with 3/4 cup beef broth, 4 cups of mixed veg, 2 Tbs. flour (gluten-free) and 2 Tbs. ketchup.  I put all that in the bottom of a 11 x 13 pan and put the leftover mashed potatoes on the top with some leftover sour cream mixed in and 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese.  It baked at 375 for 18 minutes and then another 2 minutes after adding another 1/4 cup cheese to the top.

Everybody took their tastes, but I’ll admit that only my husband and I were excited about this dish.  Even so, it was a pretty easy fix, and pretty fast, too.  We put some salad and tortilla chips with it.  I especially like that it’s a complete meal, what with the veggies. meat, and dairy.

What’s also great is that there are leftovers for meals to come!

This entry was posted in Meal Time!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

