I take it back

In typical form, I’ve once again nearly immediately had the opposite of what I’ve blogged about happen.  This blog likes to make a hypocrite of me!

It worked out this time.

I was feeling a bit tired (or a lot), a bit unexercised, and therefore a bit (to say the least) crabby.  I was trying to bite my tongue, but when supper rolled around, I took a big breath (and let it out slowly) and said in as sweet, polite, and encouraging tone as possible, “You can stay at the table until your carrots are eaten.  You can sit there until bedtime if it takes that long.”

2 little boys stared at me, and then the questions started coming.  By this point, dear daughter had hers pretty much gone.  No big deal.

As it was, my sleepy little 5 year old decided there was no way he was going to eat it, and he just went to bed.  Early.  6:30 p.m. early.  And that was ok–he needed it!  TOO MANY LATE NIGHTS this summer for a kiddo who does best in bed before 7:30 (since he gets up at about 6:00 no matter the time zone or time he went to bed).

I had to get over to church to meet some friends since we had scheduled to clean out the church cry room.  I left with some encouragement to the 7 year old (who had been nibbling away) to try his best for 10 more minutes and then maybe think about stopping for bedtime.

He did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  He finished!

I guess he tried to call me with the great news, but my cell phone was plugged in at church to charge, so I got the fabulous report from my husband when I got home (since all the kids had long been sleeping by the time the carpets were cleaned and we were out of there).

Where does that leave me?  Where do we go from there?

My brain is waaaaay too scrambled with some other things going on to give a concrete answer.  All I know is that I’m so glad, I’m so proud of his efforts, I’m so thankful I stated an expectation (in a calm way) about food and that it was met.  Sure–they do this all the time with their tastes, but this was actual food consumption.  What a concept!

I know, I know…you’re gasping at me in fake shock and rolling your eyes.  Please don’t steal my joy.  Every step forward is a victory.

Could he have done it 2 years ago?  4?  I’m 99.9% sure that the answer is a resounding “no.”  We are in such a different place.  It’s taken a lot of time and patience to build a foundation and reset the tone, among other things.  It looks like we’re getting “there”.

Praise God!

This entry was posted in Being "Mom", Meal Time!, Parenting and Asperger's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

