meal time complexities

Meals have gotten trickier than ever!

Our oldest son, Caleb, was put on an antifungal about a week ago.  It seems that after years of antibiotics for ear infections and then throat infections, his system got all out of sorts and overrun with yeast.  As I indicated in an older post, it is very possible that the yeast is manifesting itself negatively, factoring into behavioral issues. 

While on the antifungal, he is not to consume yeast and is supposed to drastically limit sugar. 

And I thought it was challenging avoiding peanuts, gluten, and chicken!

The fact is that I just can’t serve one meal a lot of the time.  I set that as a goal for myself, but I just don’t do it consistently.  We love chicken!  We’re getting used to more gluten-free things.  Some of us are getting quite the taste for g-free pizza, pancakes, and cookies.  We’ve tried a couple dishes with gf noodles and thought it tasted pretty good.  Actually, we couldn’t even tell a difference in one of the dishes!

I am really floundering lately, though.  I keep reverting back to the familiar, safe menu of pizza for him, and the rest of us eat more variety.  It’s not ideal, but each day it happens, it’s the best I could do.  There has been SO MUCH going on lately, and while I aim for more variety, I cannot compromise on the yeast free, low-sugar, gluten free, peanut-free, no chicken restrictions. 

I’m thankful he has something to eat.  I’m relieved that I’m not starving him.  He’ll eat pretty much any kind of “sauce” on his pizza–whether it’s carrot puree, squash, sweet potatoes…but I’ve been keeping it mostly tomatoes lately, because he’s supposed to be on a specific carb diet right now (I’m not doing the best with this) and tomatoes are on the “legal” list but most of those other veggies are too sugary. 

Anyway, I was excited tonight because I whipped up a sugar-free, gluten-free, yeast-free pizza crust from a cookbook I keep renewing from the library (but hadn’t made anything from yet).  It was so easy to make and baked up nicely.  The edges were crispy, but it seemed like underneath the toppings was fairly soft.  It was pretty thin, but it held up nicely even when sliced into big old triangles (he never gets big triangle pizzas anymore and was pretty excited). 

I’ll share the recipe:

1/4 cup light bean flour (I used garbanzo)

1/2 cup tapioca flour

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup rice flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used grapeseed oil because it’s very cardiovascular-friendly, which he needs)

1/2 cup milk

*Mix dry ingredients in a med. bowl.  The recipe indicates to mix the wet ingredients before adding to the dry, but I just dumped them in.  The recipe also indicated simply to “mix well”, but I used an electric hand-held mixer, which worked great.  The dough is more of a cake batter consistency.  The recipe said to grease a cookie sheet (I used a circular pizza pan) and spread out the dough with oiled waxed paper or plastic wrap.  I just used a spatula and made the edges slightly thicker.

It baked for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, coming out looking quite finished despite that baking for 9-10 minutes after adding toppings was recommended.  I reduced the heat to 375 and baked it for another 6-8 minutes.

It was nice not having to wait for the dough to rise, not having to knead the dough and get my hands all sticky, and to watch my hungry growing boy gobble it up.  Oh, I did throw some seasonings into the dough–a hodgepodge of Italian seasonings, garlic, and onion powder.  I plan to measure out the dry ingredients into baggies for easy mixes (when I can find a day that’s not so busy)!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to meal time complexities

  1. Yesterday we made two more batches of this recipe. We baked one (with no Italian seasonings) and after baking I sprinkled cinnamon and stevia on top, then drizzled on a milk/butter/stevia “glaze”. I thought it smelled amazing, looked great, and tasted…iffy. He loved it, as did his brother, JJ, who was privileged to sample a piece. Then we made another plain “crust” and sliced it up into squarish shapes to put nut butters on, almost like a flat bread. It’s been a big hit and made a nice cold lunch to send to school! We actually could pack him a sandwich! 🙂

Leave a Reply

