have I lost my mind?

I hope that other people ask themselves this question as often as I do.  Well, maybe for everyone else’s sake I should hope that I’m the only one…

Today is my second day of watching a baby one month older than mine.  So many moments of the day are just chaotic–two babies wanting to eat, needing to be changed, wanting to be held…crying.  Some moments are smooth-sailing.  Ahhhh…I eat them up!  At the moment, I have both babies napping and my kindergartener watching an amazon prime free movie.  I’m taking this opportunity to indulge myself with some writing to sort through my scattered thoughts.

We got in a nice 5k walk before it got too hot.  Both babies fell asleep–although my baby didn’t sleep much more than 15 minutes.  Despite the morning nap (which I think she needed, having arrived fussy–very much unlike her usually sunny self), our little friend is taking another nap (she typically just takes a long afternoon nap). 

Though many moments feel just crazy-busy and I feel stretched thin, I did manage to unload and start reloading the dishwasher, fold and put away a load of laundry and start two more loads, and…oh wait.  That’s it.  Well, I ate a decent lunch.  That counts for something, right?  Never mind the fact that MY baby still isn’t napping well and woke up after 10 minutes in his crib, so now he’s napping next to me on the couch.  Yep.  We’ll work on that one.  But not right now.  How about Friday?  I don’t like putting off what can be done today, but today I’m just surviving.  Sleep is good.  Sleep counts–no matter where.  That’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it.

Can you tell I’m feeling so far behind around here that my expectations are pretty low?  Well, that’s the situation.  I watched a really funny video floating around facebook yesterday about how people put on airs and pretend they have everything together.  It really resonated with me, except that unlike the mom who overslept and had 30 minutes to get herself and her family ready for church, I almost never get my hair dried.  It’s twisted up into a wet bun 27-29 days (out of the month).  And those other days, it probably air-dried.

Well, I just heard a sneeze from our little friend, so I had better check on her and see if she’s up and ready for her lunch…

Lord, please grant me (and anyone reading this) PATIENCE, diligence, energy, and loving nurture!  Thank you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

