Delish-no sugar-shhhhhh!

I have a yummy recipe to share that no one has to know is pretty good for you.  My kids know full well that it doesn’t have any added sugar, but they gobble it up anyway.

We call it “cinnamon roll cake”, and found it online posted by Jamie Eason, “the world’s fittest model”.  I tweaked the recipe a bit, and all my kids LOVE it (yes, even my ultra-picky oldest son).

So, here’s my gluten-free version of it:

1/3 C. stevia

2 tsp. cinnamon

–Combine these two ingredients in  a small bowl and set aside.

1 1/2 C. gluten-free oat flour

2 scoops of Dairy Free powder (the original recipe calls for vanilla whey protein powder)

1 T. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 C. stevia

–Combine these dry ingredients in a medium/large sized bowl

2 egg whites

1 C. milk (the recipe calls for unsweetened almond, and since I didn’t have that I added a splash of real vanilla to dairy milk, for extra flavor)

1 4 oz jar of baby food applesauce (which I used since I had it on hand for baby Chad, but you could just as well puree regular applesauce).

*Grease an 8 x 8 and preheat the oven to 350.  Mix together the dry ingredients (not including the cinnamon/stevia mix) and then add in the wet.  Pour 1/4 of the batter in the pan and then sprinkle heavily with the cinnamon mixture.  Repeat, and then marble the pan with a knife.  Bake for 24-28 minutes or until the center comes clean when pricked.

Obviously, the original recipe was intended to be a protein bar.  Dairy Free powder doesn’t have protein, so the recipe loses that nutritional aspect.  Even so, now that the weather is turning cooler, I love that I can fill up tummies with something warm, and that it’s something safe that they all enjoy.  It’s just icing on the cake that it doesn’t have any sugar, although using that saying is just plain wrong in this instance!  🙂

The only bad thing is that it doesn’t last long.  My family easily polishes off 3/4 of it in one shot, and could probably eat the whole thing if I let them go crazy on it.  Still, it’s easy to make (I like to mix the dry ingredients the night before so that I can put it all together in a jiffy in the morning).  By the time the 30 minutes my son has to wait after taking his morning meds/supps has passed, it’s out of the oven, piping hot on their plates.  Mmmm…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delish-no sugar-shhhhhh!

  1. In case you’re unfamiliar with stevia, it’s a natural sweetener that has no metabolic effect. I hope I’m explaining this well. Feel free to research it yourself, but as far I know it’s perfectly safe for diabetics and those who need to avoid sugar for other reasons (such as yeast issues).

Leave a Reply

