another sugar-free recipe

Breakfasts tend to be a trickier meal for my oldest son.  Most of us generally just eat cereal, and while there certainly are increasingly more gluten-free cereals, he’s never been a fan of cereal.  I was THRILLED to discover a week ago at the health-food store a loaf of yeast-free, gluten-free, sugar-free (and dairy free, if you need it–which he doesn’t) bread.  It was $2 off that week so I pretty much cleared off the (refrigerated) shelf.  It keeps in the package (sealed) for quite some time, and I figured it’d be nice in a pinch (since I’ve scrambled to make him flatbread for his lunch box during breakfast time more times than I can count).  Anyway, while it’s been nice to add that bread to the mix, I’m trying not to let him go crazy on it and am still looking for him to branch out.

I figured that I’d capitalize on his love for my cinnamon roll cake by trying out a recipe for coffeecake muffins (printed on his rice flour box).  Being that they were (happily) a success, I thought I’d share the recipe (with my tweaks to make it SUGAR FREE). 

Coffeecake Muffins:

1 cup White Rice Flour

1/3 tsp. cream of tartar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup stevia

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. xantham gum

1/3 cup shortening

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup milk

*Preheat oven to 400 and sift all dry ingredients.  Cut in the shortening and, when well-blended, add remaining wet ingredients and beat for 4 minutes.  Put into 12 muffins cups (with liners).

Topping:

1/2 cup white rice flour

1/8 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup stevia

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

3 tbsp. melted butter

1/4 tsp. vanilla

*generously top the muffins with this crumbly mixture and bake for 15 minutes.

 

Yesterday I FINALLY got together with some friends from church to finalize plans for our Mom’s Bible Study Group.  We’ve been talking about it since summer.  Our hostess made an absolutely amazing coffee cake.  Compared to that, I would call these muffins of mine “healthy tasting”…but still, they’re easy to put together, it’s something different, and they ARE tasty, nevertheless.  Gluten-free, sugar-free…

And probably best when fresh.  So, next time I might just make a double batch but NOT bake the second.  I would put it all in the pan, prepared, then freeze the pan, later removing the muffin cups to place in a baggie or container, all se to be popped in and baked at some date to be determined.

Nice!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

