am I all about food?

Sometimes I wonder if I must seem like I’m all about food…

Well, tonight I had an amazing discovery: PUMPKIN RAVIOLI. 

YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The kids weren’t crazy about it (Mr. Gluten Free couldn’t even try it…but baby Chad liked it).  It seemed like more of a dessert then a main dish! 

While supper was quite the hodge podge (roast, pumpkin ravioli, steamed broccoli and cinnamon struesel “pizza”), it was a nice change of pace.  I don’t serve roasts or broccoli very often.  Cruciferous vegetables can mess with thyroid problems (which I have), and roasts..well, I don’t really know why I don’t serve them more often.  Throw them in the crock and wait for them to cook.  Easy. 

It was pretty thoughtless of me to make that dessert pizza since it was very gluten-filled and also very sugary.  I’ve got to hand it to my 8-year-old, though, because in some ways he is SO not picky.  He was jealous, of course, but he stayed very calm and suggested that we make him something “similar” using a piece of his “flat bread” (I’ve posted the recipe.  It’s just a yeast-free pizza crust that I don’t let get crispy).  So we sprinkled some gf cinnamon on it, I made a quick glaze out of stevia, milk, and vanilla, and–voila!  He loved it.  And it was ready in under one minute. 

It can be a bit tricky keeping up with having the flatbread on hand, but I’ve got to say how thankful I am for finding that recipe.  It’s from a library cook book which I’ve been renewing since June.  Maybe I should purchase my own copy???

We use the flatbread to make sandwiches for his lunch box (boy I don’t miss buttering crackers like I did for him in 1st and 2nd grade!), we’ve made grilled cheese with them, pizza, of course, and sometimes he just sprinkles cinnamon and stevia on top and calls it a cookie. 

Hey–whatever works!

I’ve also been playing around with which flours I use.  Sometimes I sub one of them out for millet flour or just reduce the quantity of one and add millet.  It does seem to spread into the pan differently when I change it, but he hasn’t complained about any of the varieties.  I LOVE to see that flexibility, coming from the kid who once upon a time would act like you had run over his puppy with your car (on purpose) if I put peanut butter on the wrong side of the cracker.

Times change!  This is good.

Though I would certainly do things differently when it comes to how I’ve fed him over the years, one thing that is fine is how used to preparing separate food for him I am.  My reasons may not have initially been so spot-on, but now I really don’t have a choice at times (like at potlucks or when we eat at other people’s houses) and it’s just not a big deal.  It’s second nature. 

I do continue to try to find recipes that are safe for him that we can all eat, but let’s face it: his food is really expensive.  We continue to try to hunt out the lowest prices, but I just can’t feed us all his way right now.  I promise that I’m not using costs as an excuse for being a short order cook!  Sure, when it comes to meat (minus chicken) and vegetables or fruit, he can eat a lot of things that we can.  It’s important to keep that in mind when I menu plan, because I so often want to just pick out casserole-type dishes, since they’re an affordable way to stretch the more expensive ingredients (like meat), but unfortunately they often require mixing in the whole grain, and that’s where I get stuck and don’t make it safe (since it would require an expensive amount of his “safe” versions). 

Well, I do have a couple goals to tackle, and I’ll say it aloud for some accountability, because I’m always jumping from facet of life to facet of life and am amazed at how scatterbrained I can be.  No one else needs to hold me accountable, but the blog will because I read back my posts! 

The kids and I were talking about changing up pizza, adding veggies and meats to it.  They have been allowed cheese pizza or to pick off toppings (in the past).  Our first goal is to get used to eating these things in the context of something familiar.  So, none of them now are big bell pepper eaters, but I think we’ll tackle adding those first (all diced up).  Next we’ll probably try ground beef.  I’m really hopeful that they’ll hardly notice the extras (even though they’ll actually know I’ve put them there) and that it will chalk up some confidence in being more eager to try some other dishes with those ingredients.  Down the line I think we could even try like a turkey pizza with broccoli, or something…and as yummy as a barbecue chicken pizza sounds, we’ll just rule that out since chicken isn’t Caleb-safe.

I’d also like to fashion some sort of lasagna.  I have gluten-free noodles, so I think I would keep out cottage and ricotta cheese and just keep it to sauce and shredded cheese the first time, explaining how similar it is to pizza.  I realize that the big thing for Caleb is (and always has been) textures (due to his sensory issues), but I really do think that he’s been forced to make progress there since being diagnosed with food allergies.  If it goes ok, we’ll make it again within the next couple weeks and add an ingredient, like some ground beef or cottage/ricotta cheese.

If anyone is actually reading this, I apologize for being boring…but to me this is exciting, and life-changing, and IMPORTANT.  Thanks for listening!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to am I all about food?

  1. At lunch yesterday I eagerly poured the leftover pumpkin ravioli into my dish, thinking that I would clean it up. Well…this is a dish to enjoy in moderation! Four noodles in and I was “satisfied”. More leftovers for today!

Leave a Reply

