Heart healthy french fries???

Yesterday I had a kid have to get a filling.  This was a first for our household.

Boo.

He came home with the dentist’s directive to eat only soft foods for the rest of the day.  I had a turkey tenderloin already going in the crock pot which I knew he would eat (and would be soft enough), but he wouldn’t love it and would eat the minimum.  What could I add to the meal that he’d really love?  (I kind of wanted to do something special after what he “went through”).

Well, he had just reminded me recently that brown beans and french fries are his two favorite foods.  I eyed a bag of potatoes that had been sitting in a dark corner of the kitchen longer than the ideal, and needed to get used a.s.a.p.  Hmm…

So, once I finally got my littlest guy down for a nap (that’s another story, for another post), I used the bit of time I had before giving an after school piano lesson to prep the potatoes.  I decided to peel them after scrubbing them, and then I carefully chopped them into McDonald’s-sized shapes.  I put them in a covered container with water in the fridge, where they remained until after my lesson.

Since (miracle of miracles) my little guy was STILL asleep, I got out my frying pan and filled the bottom of it with some grapeseed oil (there’s your heart healthy element).  I used a lot–so it was probably about 1/4-1/2 an inch.  I heated the oil a bit and then carefully poured in 1/4 of the potatoes and cooked them (covered), stirring them frequently.  They certainly were not browning when I decided to take them out, but I could tell that they were softening.  I have no idea how long I fried them, but it was probably 5-10 minutes per batch.  I put each portion on a cookie sheet and baked them for 8 minutes at 450, flipped them, and baked them another 6-8 minutes.

I don’t often salt things, but BOY did I salt those fries!

Now, I’ve made “oven fries” before–where you cut them into nice triangular shapes, leave the peels on, and bake in the oven after tossing in some oil, etc…and my fry lover did NOT care for them.  So, then, I ended up eating way too many over the course of the next couple days so that they wouldn’t go to waste.  Imagine my joy when my one-and-only fry lover sank his teeth into the first fry and quickly exclaimed with wide eyes that they tasted just like McDonald’s!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know how I’m going to use up those last few potatoes (in a few days).  🙂

On a side note, I gave my problem feeder the option to have me shred his portion of turkey on two pieces of gluten free bread and cover it with pizza sauce and cheese (rather than eat the turkey plain).  That was his choice, and while he admitted that he could taste it after the first bite, he did just fine eating the rest of it.  Extra protein–hallelujah!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

