see ya, sugar

With all my upped efforts in my workouts, I’ve been trying to eat better. Most of the time that’s not too hard to do since I don’t want to blow my hard work but also realize that I need to refuel myself well after working that hard. I’ve cut back my sugar intake quite a bit, but not cut it out.

Yesterday, however, we began to revisit a chapter we’d finished back at the beginning of the school year. For eldest son, rigid thinking was back, anxiety heightened, and other facets that made us feel that probably the yeast had gotten out of control and was exhibiting itself behaviorally. A scrip for an antifungal was called in and after finishing up the last of his homemade brown sugar cinnamon (gluten free) pop tarts the other day, he popped the first little pill and said goodbye to sugar, inasmuch is possible.

Oh, and yeast, too.

So I’m back to making flatbread every couple days and finding ways to satisfy his sweet tooth without using sugar. I had to think back hard, but I remembered making donuts for him the last time, so I pulled out the old donut maker, mixed up some batter, and–voila! YUM! OK, the frosting was pretty gross, but I couldn’t even believe how yummy the plain donuts were. It’s hard to believe not a speck of sugar is in them. Maybe if you ate one side-by-side a sugar-laden donut you’d feel differently, but all in all–what a treat! For something not too unhealthy, that is!

The recipe will be coming, although it’s sort of a guesstimate since I was dumping a little o’ this ‘n that…first, though–someone’s up from his nap and calling!…

1 1/2 cups flour (I probably used 1/2 cup millet flour, 1/4 cup white rice flour, 1/4 cup tapioca flour, 1/8 cup potato starch, and the rest garbanzo flour. I was aiming for a blend similar to a wheat flour). I added in 1-1/2 tsp. xantham gum to help bind it together.

Instead of 1/2 cup sugar, I used 1/4 cup stevia blend and 1/4 cup of a mixture of coconut sugar, erythritol, and a teaspoon or so of xylitol.

1-1/2 tsp. baking powder

Instead of 9 Tbs. melted butter I used 9 tbs. coconut oil to help add a bit more sweetness and to cut the step of melting (since this time of year coconut oil is runny).

3/4 cup milk

1 egg, lightly beaten

a teaspoon or two cinnamon

After mixing the dry ingredients and making a well in the center, I mixed in the wet and then eyeballed how much cinnamon I wanted based on how much it changed the look of the batter as I stirred it in. I used a little coconut oil to grease the Sunbeam donut maker (which I’d found on clearance at Target and bought on a whim–which I rarely do–so that Caleb could have donuts when the rest of us did). They bake for 6 minutes and taste best warmed a bit if they don’t get eaten up right away–which they didn’t. I’m glad that I’d only frosted a few because the frosting didn’t go over well. I haven’t found an amazing sugar-free (natural) frosting yet, but did have a bit of a better result this afternoon at lunch time…

Caleb wanted me to try to jazz up a piece of flatbread to taste more like a cinnamon breadstick. So, I covered it with sprinkled stevia and cinnamon and made a little glaze out of a tiny bit of melted butter, a few drips of milk and vanilla, and then a couple tablespoons or so of stevia. I heard, “Mmm!”more than once as he gobbled that up. I’m so thankful for simple, relatively inexpensive ways to still “treat” him without compromising his current dietary needs. So, I’m glad to see that I’m starting to get some confidence with experimentation in gluten-free cooking. I have a long way to go, but I like to keep things pretty simple!

Speaking of, it’s time to get another batch of flatbread ready, and this low-key afternoon time feels like the perfect time while little guy here listens to nursery rhymes. But, if you’ve got any good sugar-free frosting ideas, please share! I’ll be making cinnamon swirl cake when the donuts are gone, I think. That’s always a good one, too. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

